Real-Time Location Sharing on Google Maps (Step-by-Step)

Sharing your location to make easier your daily works and very important to make secure your path away from home. You can share your location with parents, family members, neighbors, and your favorite ones. It is very easy to find someone better than asking him/her by calling. For example, UBER passenger app will secure your path with real-time location updates.

In 2019 everyone who uses a smart device, will probably be using Google Maps for search locations and find their directions.

You just need simple clicks to find your preferred location and to get directions to it. It helps you to Avoid from along traffic. Google maps find you the best ways to drive/go safely.

How to Location Sharing Using Android Device

If they have a Google Account

  1. Open the Google Maps app on your Android device and sign in with your Google account. Create a Google account here.
  2. Tap Menu (Triple Lines) > Location sharing > Add people.
  3. Choose how long you want to share your location with other people (Sharing time).
  4. Tap on Select People.
  5. Choose who you want to share your location with.
  6. Tap Share.

If They Don’t Have a Google Account

  1. Open the Google Maps app on your Android device and sign in with your Google account. Create a Google account here.
  2. Tap Menu (Triple Lines) > Location sharing > Add people.
  3. Tap More > Copy to clipboard. People with this link can see your shared location for as long as you choose. (up to 72 hours.)

You can also share through preferred messaging apps. Tap More > select an app.

When you start navigating by car, foot, or bicycle, you can share your destination. Tap More on navigation screen > Share trip progress > Choose a person > Tap Share.

To stop sharing, Tap Menu > Location sharing > Next to the person, Tap Remove X.

Location Sharing Using an iPhone or iPad Device

If they have a Google Account

  1. Open the Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad device and sign in with your Google account. Create a Google account here.
  2. Tap Menu (Triple Lines) > Location sharing > Add people.
  3. Choose how long you want to share your location with other people (Sharing time).
  4. Tap on Select People. (Give permission to access your contacts through Google Maps.)
  5. Choose a person, who you want to share your location with.
  6. Tap Share.

If They Don’t Have a Google Account

  1. Open the Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad device and sign in with your Google account. Create a Google account here.
  2. Tap Menu (Triple Lines) > Location sharing > Add people.
  3. Tap Message to send via iMessage, or More to select a different app. People with this link can see your shared location for as long as you choose. (up to 72 hours.)

When you start navigating by car, foot, or bicycle, you can share your destination. Tap More on navigation screen > Share trip progress > Choose a person > Tap Share.

To stop sharing, Tap Menu > Location sharing > Turn off the switch next to the person.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

shares